The Constitutionnal Council

The Constitutional Council was established by the Constitution of 23 February 1989, which declares the establishment of the Council in the first paragraph of Article 153: "A Constitutional Council is established, being in charge of watching the respect of the Constitution". 

In addition to its functions in the matter of governing the constitutionality, the Constitutional Council, in accordance with paragraph 2 of Article 163 of the Constitution, oversees the regularity of the operations of referendum, election of the President of the Republic and legislative elections and promulgates the results of these operations.

Since the Constitutional revision of 28 November 1994, the Constitutional Council is composed of nine members: three designated by the President of the Republic of which the President; two elected by the National People’s Assembly; two elected by the Council of Nation; an elected official by the supreme Court and one elected by the Council of the State. 

Under the provisions of Article 164, paragraphs 3 and 4 of the Constitution, the President of the Constitutional Council is appointed for a single term of six years. The other members of the Constitutional Council shall fulfill a single term of six years and are subject to midterm renewal every three years.

With regard to referral authorities, Article 166 of the Constitution stipulates that the Constitutional Council is seized by the President of the Republic, the President of the People's National Assembly or the Council of the Nation.